Left Coast® Monographs

How Will We Know the Way? Bread and Wine, Blessed and Shared Living Symbols, Living Faith Catholic Church Milestones Exploring Pathways to God
Living Symbols, Living Faith

Living Symbols, Living Faith is an overview of the meaning and importance of sacramentality as it is understood in the context of Christian religion. The primary focus is a discussion of the history, theology and practice of the traditional seven Catholic sacraments: Baptism, Confirmation, Eucharist, Reconciliation, Anointing of the Sick, Holy Orders and Matrimony. The development of each sacrament, including its applicability in various Chrisitan denominations, is treated separately.

Recognizing the centrality of ministry to the practice of the sacraments, Living Symbols also includes a comprehensive review of various forms of church ministry. This book along with the other books in the Left Coast® Monograph series is designed for shared group discussion, as well as for personal reading and reference.


The first chapter in this monograph discusses the various aspects of liturgy, the public prayer of the church that accompanies the administration of all the sacraments. This is followed in the next chapter by an overview of the meaning and implications of sacramentality as an expression of the church’s faith. The discussion of each individual sacrament begins in the next chapter starting with the primary sacrament, common to almost every Chrisitan denomination—Baptism.

Following Baptism, three chapters are devoted to a combined discussion of Holy Orders and ministry. Included in these chapters are descriptions of the various religious orders, with particular emphasis on the importance of monasticism to the early vitality of the Chrisitan church, as well as today’s various orders of friars and nuns. The final five chapters cover the sacraments of Eucharist, Confirmation, Matrimony, Reconciliation and Anointing of the Sick.

Cover Price: $19.95 / Perfectbound
ISBN: 9781457522543
236 pages

Buy from Amazon

Also available at fine bookstores everywhere

Photo of an open book

Read an Excerpt

Photo author

About the Author

Special Features

  • Many references to the underlying theological documents, including extensive citations to the documents of Vatican Council II.
  • Chapters on each sacrament begin with specific references to the Baltimore Catechism and the Catechism of the Catholic Church.
  • Differences in sacramental names and practices between the Western and Eastern Catholic churches along with the etymology and history of sacramental names.
  • Appendixes on the Sensus Fidelium and the author’s personal assessment of Morality and Ethics.